The purpose of this scheme is to identify talented students and nurture them.  The test consists of two phases.

  • Stage 1: Examination at the State/UT-level;
  • Stage 2: National-level examination conducted by NCERT.

Exam structure:

  • Mental Ability Test (MAT);
  • Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)

Eligibility: Class X students.

Application: Get a form through the liaison officer of your State given on the website and send it by post via respective schools.

Prizes and rewards: Total 1,000 scholarships of Rs. 1,250 per month for class XI and XII; grant of Rs. 2,000 per month for graduate and postgraduate programmes.

Deadline: As per notified by States and UTs.


Source: The Hindu