Jammu and Tirupati are among six cities across the country which are set to get IITs, with the Parliament on Tuesday passing a bill in this regard.

Under the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill 2016, which was approved on Tuesday by the Rajya Sabha by voice vote, IITs will also be started in Palakkad (Kerala), Goa, Dharward (Karnataka) and Bhilai (Chhattisgarh).

Earlier, the Lok Sabha had passed on July 25 the Bill which also seeks to bring the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, within the ambit of the proposed Act.

Source: Times of India